Reviews

Summary
4.8

Home away from home - Rating 5/5

We had a wonderful time staying with Steve & Sharon in Hawkeshead. The location was fantastic -- a quaint village in a beautiful location, away from the crowds. Our room was very cosy and perfect for the long weekend. We really enjoyed the lovely breakfasts and a dinner prepared by Steve and felt very well looked after. We didn't have a car but could get around easily with regular buses. We also did some beautiful walks from the BnB to Near Sawrey, the forrest and Conniston. Thank you for hosting us!

Reviewer: Hannah | Sun 7th Apr 2024 | 19 hours ago


Very comfortable - Rating 5/5

Lovely HUGE comfy bed, cosy room with a garden view.Brilliant breakfast with consideration of dietary needs, Thankyou!

Reviewer: Greg| Sat 6th Apr 2024 | 1 day ago


Fabulous stay - Rating 5/5

This was our second stay at the School House Cottage and we’ll certainly be going again. The welcome, the room, food (breakfasts and 3 course evening meals), were excellent from the start to finish of our three night break.Thank you Sharon and Steve for your hospitality, and for the little extras which made our stay very special- the home made biscuits and tea after a long soggy walk went down a treat!Thank you both and we’ll see you again soon.

Reviewer: Doreen S | Tue 2nd Apr 2024 | 5 days ago


Brilliant! - Rating 5/5

Great location. Lovely hosts Steve and Sharon. Steve is a top notch chef and his breakfasts are the best in the Lakes bar none. Dinner was also excellent with lots of choice. Rooms spacious, clean and well equipped. This is a hidden gem in Hawkshead and we will be going again (for our 5th time). Thanks Steve and Sharon for a wonderful stay.

Reviewer: Bernard K | Mon 4th Mar 2024 | 1 month ago


Cosy Cottage - Rating 5/5

Comfortable country retreat.Excellent food served by friendly hosts.Recommended for those looking for peace and quiet.

Reviewer:P | Mon 26th Feb 2024 | 1 month ago


100% recommendHoney Bees Shepard's Hut- Rating 5/5

Went to Honey Bees Shepherd's Hut for a relaxing few days away. Great communication with the host before arrival and during our stay, they are very friendly. The hut had everything we could possibly need. The hot tub was so easy to heat up (following Stephen's tips) and definitely helped with relaxing. The location was perfect, 30 second walk to shops, pubs and food places. The place was so clean and felt really private and homely. The glass roof was such a lovely bonus, we would 100% return.

Reviewer: Gillian L | Sun 25th Feb 2024 | 1 month ago


first class - Rating 5/5

the room was just right the bed was huge and very comfortable the breakfast was very tasty and cooked to perfection.The room was the Head mistress room and was decorated with characters ffrom Peter Rabbit ,the view from the window would be perfect in the summer we had light snow but it was still a good view

Reviewer: Audrey E | Mon 12th Feb 2024 | 1 month ago


Very cosy stay - Rating 5/5

Lovely stay. The shepherd’s hut was nice and warm, and the bed was soft and comfortable. The hot tub (which warms up wonderfully with a bit of perseverance) was an amazing way to end the evenings, but also a great after-breakfast activity, with the views from the tub being quite special.Conveniently situated, with the shops and pubs being only a couple of minutes walk away, and a bus stop more or less right outside which made it easy for us to head into Ambleside.Host very welcoming and helpful. Thanks for a lovely stay!

Reviewer: Tom S | Thu 8th Feb 2024 | 1 month ago


Annual Trip to School House Cottage - Rating 5/5

As always a brilliant visit and stay with Steve and Sharon. Great to catch up with you both again

Reviewer: Ian W | Mon 29th Jan 2024 | 2 months ago


New year break - Rating 5/5

Had a wonderful time and will be visiting again in the new year

Reviewer: MR D | Thu 4th Jan 2024 | 3 months ago