Reviews

CHECK AVAILABILITY

Lovely. ! - Rating 5/5

Thank you so much for an enjoyable stay. Lovely place and made very welcome. Breakfast was very good. Cheese and ham omlette i had on my second day was to die for so Thank you.

Response

Thank you for your lovely review and hope to see you again soon

Reviewer:MrCharles G | Wed 27th Feb 2019 | 2 months ago


Top venue - Rating 5/5

We stayed at the School House cottage on our first trip to Hawkshead. Having visited the usual Keswick, Ambleside etc we thought we'd go somewhere new, and the village is excellent for a weekend away. If you're visiting, you should absolutely stay at the Cottage. The hosts were lovely and accommodating, the rooms clean, characterful with the biggest comfiest bed! There's even a Gin Palace shed that overlooks the garden, which we'll be trying out when we return in the summer!!

Response

Thank you for a great review and we look forward the having a Gin in the palace ( Pavilion )

Reviewer:Dan H | Mon 18th Feb 2019 | 3 months ago


Perfect stay - Rating 5/5

We stayed at the School House on Saturday night just gone. The hosts were amazing very attentive but not to attentive and nothing was too much trouble. They had cooked some cup cakes for us to have which were free of charge. We had dinner on the Saturday night which was three course and there was a choice as well the food was excellent. The bedroom was very comfortable and with a beautiful view of the garden. Breakfast again was great. Hawkshead is a beautiful little village we will definitely be back

Response

Thanks for your excellent reviewwe are so pleased you loved the evening mealand breakfast and we look forward to seeing you again

Reviewer:Andrew J | Mon 11th Feb 2019 | 3 months ago


School House Cottage - Rating 5/5

Lovely place to stay. Great hosts, lovely room and excellent home cooked meals.Will definitely stay again when back in the area. Highly recommended.

Response

Thank you both for a lovely review and we will look forward to see you again cheer Steve & Sharon

Reviewer:Colin W | Wed 6th Feb 2019 | 3 months ago


Very Welcoming B & B - Rating 5/5

We enjoyed our stay at School House Cottage. It's a very comfortable house and the host, Steve, was very welcoming and friendly.

Reviewer:Dave m | Thu 27th Dec 2018 | 4 months ago


Spot on! - Rating 5/5

All and more than you could want. Tasty, freshly cooked breakfast, mugs for that brew in your room. En-suite rooms, bath robes, fresh flowers.Use of lounge downstairs, laid back atmosphere. Hot brew on arrival,the list is full of praise of the end product, Spot on !

Reviewer:PAUL B | Wed 17th Oct 2018 | 7 months ago


Hawkshead B&B - Rating 5/5

Comfortable and friendly B&B, well-located for access to various areas of the Lakes. Beautiful views from the room;excellent breakfasts;friendly, helpful hosts - and other guests. Lovely place to re-visit.

Reviewer:Heather S | Tue 16th Oct 2018 | 7 months ago


Overnight Stay - Rating 4/5

Room and ensuite compact, but perfectly fine for an overnighg stay. Room clean and comfortable. Excellent breakfast. Welcoming host.

Reviewer:Philip T | Mon 15th Oct 2018 | 7 months ago


Welcoming and comfortable - Rating 5/5

Our stay at the Old School House Cottage was all too short as we stopped here on our way home from Scotland.We were warmly welcomed and our room though small was perfectly formed with a comfortable bed and shower room with an excellent shower.I lovely sitting on the window seat watching the birds in the garden.Good choice at breakfast and all cooked to order.Just wish it was not such a long drive as we would be able to visit again sooner rather than later.

Reviewer:David E | Sat 15th Sep 2018 | 8 months ago


Excellent - Rating 5/5

Very friendly place, great location and good food...what more do you need for a B&B?

Reviewer:Peter T | Sun 26th Aug 2018 | 8 months ago


great stay at the School House Cottage - Rating 5/5

we had such a lovely stay in the cottage. The breakfast was amazing (sorry we was almost late on one of the mornings). the hosts and there cat where really friendly. we would definitely stay again.

Reviewer:Cheryl G | Thu 16th Aug 2018 | 9 months ago


Great stay - Rating 5/5

We had a great stay, very welcoming hosts. B&B is very quiet but still handy to everything in Hawkshead. Lovely breakfast.

Reviewer:Denise M | Wed 15th Aug 2018 | 9 months ago


Friendly accomodation - Rating 5/5

Great place. Delicious breakfast. Very conveniently located for the southern lakes. Friendly owners. Lovely one night stay

Reviewer:Sylvia D | Fri 27th Jul 2018 | 9 months ago


A great stay in a wonderful B&B - Rating 5/5

We thoroughly enjoyed our stay in this B&B. The room was great with a very comfortable bed. The owners were very friendly and we loved the garden. It’s also situated in a brilliant location which served as a great base for exploring the surrounding area.

Reviewer:Tim M | Thu 12th Jul 2018 | 10 months ago


3 night stay w.c. 17th June 2018 - Rating 4/5

Breakfast excellent;staff (owners) very friendly and helpful. Location ideal in Hawkshead with several pubs &small shopswithin 5 minute walk. We booked the smallest bedroom ("Naughty Boys Room") which is very compact so consider adequate for 1 or 2 night stay but no longer. We would book one of the two larger bedrooms on the top floor in the future.

Reviewer:Diana Dave H | Sat 23rd Jun 2018 | 11 months ago


Anne and Charlie - Rating 5/5

We loved this place! What a welcome we received on arrival..Nice cup of tea with a piece of Victoria Sponge cake. Room was very peaceful with a view of a lovely tea garden. A very tasty breakfast,good company and lots of information about the area.Thank you very much we will be back.

Reviewer:anne G | Wed 20th Jun 2018 | 11 months ago


Anne and Charlie - Rating 5/5

We loved this place! What a welcome we received on arrival..Nice cup of tea with a piece of Victoria Sponge cake. Room was very peaceful with a view of a lovely tea garden. A very tasty breakfast,good company and lots of information about the area.Thank you very much we will be back.

Reviewer:anne G | Wed 20th Jun 2018 | 11 months ago


Comfortable - Rating 5/5

We stayed for 4 nights and it was very comfortable. The bed was huge and we had a great breakfast to set us up for the day. It was very quiet. The local pubs and cafes are a short walk away. It was a great base to see the Lake District from

Reviewer:Donna S | Tue 19th Jun 2018 | 11 months ago


Faultless - Rating 5/5

Lovely welcome, very friendly great breakfast delicious cakes.

Reviewer:Lynn f | Fri 15th Jun 2018 | 11 months ago


Fantastic weekend at School House Cottage - Rating 5/5

A beautiful guest house. A warm welcome with tea and cake. Lovely room and a comfy bed. Tasty breakfast and really enjoyed sitting in the sumer house with a glass of wine in the evening. Nothing was too much trouble for our hosts Steve and Sharon.Booking again for September. Thank you for a brilliant weekend.

Reviewer:darren W | Tue 12th Jun 2018 | 11 months ago


Sue and John - Rating 5/5

We had an awesome stay at the School House Cottage! The hospitality shown to us, was second to none! The location was perfect to get to all the places we wanted to visit- would highly recommend this place. Thanks to the wonderful hosts!

Reviewer:Sue John P | Sat 2nd Jun 2018 | 11 months ago


School house Hawkshead- Rating 5/5

We had an excellent weekend. Nothing was too much bother for our hosts who welcomed us into their home.Definitely one to return too

Reviewer:Julie Q | Wed 30th May 2018 | 11 months ago


its beside the Old School House - Rating 5/5

great.comfy warm bed, plenty of pillows, friendly hosts and an awesome breakfast.hope to get back there sometime soon.

Reviewer:richard h | Sun 20th May 2018 | 1 year ago


Short break - Rating 5/5

Had a fantastic 3 days in the school house which is set in an ideal position in the town and set in beautiful gardens.The room was very comfortable with a lovelybreakfast to wake-up to.The hosts were very kind and couldn't do enough for you will definitely be going back in the future.

Reviewer:Graham Kim W | Wed 9th May 2018 | 1 year ago


A purrfect stay - Rating 5/5

A little slice of Heaven on Earth;the most peaceful bank holiday weekend we could have hoped for. Steve and Sharon are exceptionally friendly, genuinely warm people and are wonderful hosts. They are able to perfectly balance being chatty with leaving you to just chill out and enjoy the sheer beauty of the place.Similarly, the 3 cats will give you attention and fuss (if you give it in return!) but not be in your faces if you prefer.A veritable home from home and we will definitely be back.

Reviewer:Simon H | Tue 8th May 2018 | 1 year ago


Best B&B - Rating 5/5

It was brilliant from the room to the food and the hosts were lovely so overall a great W/E had by me and the wife

Reviewer:tommy H | Mon 23rd Apr 2018 | 1 year ago


Kath williams - Rating 5/5

It was a brilliant place to stay would recommend it to any one we will going back very soonxx

Reviewer:francis w | Mon 23rd Apr 2018 | 1 year ago


Bed and wow- Rating 5/5

Steve and Sharon were lovely friendly welcoming hosts they were informative and genuine .on arrival we were offered cake and tea or coffee all complimentary .the room was pretty and colour matched with a really comfortable bed and quality linens ..dressing gowns were on back of door and toiletries freely available ..very clean and characterful cottage ..breakfast was amazing fresh local produce cooked to perfection and with a great choice ..go for the salmon it was the best I've had although my husband would say the sausages were the highlight ..the village itself was really quaint and so friendly . Would go there again but does get booked up very quickly ...well done Sharon and Steve a little treasure in a beautiful part of the country

Reviewer:anthony p | Tue 20th Mar 2018 | 1 year ago


Very welcoming hosts and cottage - Rating 5/5

Stayed two nights. Hosts could not do enough for our welbeing. Cosy and warm cottage. Breakfast and home made cakes superb.

Reviewer:Caroline S | Sat 3rd Mar 2018 | 1 year ago


A good weekend - Rating 4/5

We had a very comfortable stay, to start with a warm welcome, comfortable bed and an excellent breakfast, in a very peaceful setting on the edge of the village

Reviewer:JOAN M | Tue 13th Feb 2018 | 1 year ago


New year weekend - Rating 5/5

Me and my partner had a lovely weekend at school house cottage. We were welcomed and treated amazingly well throughout the stay. We will definitely return.

Reviewer:Jayne K | Thu 4th Jan 2018 | 1 year ago


Christmas weekend - Rating 5/5

Steve &Sharon,fantastic hosts, cater to all your needs.Fabulous rooms, great views and location, highly recommend the school house for a stay.

Reviewer:Jeff julie D | Wed 6th Dec 2017 | 1 year ago


Welcoming and Cosy - Rating 4/5

Thank you for a wonderful stay. I felt welcomed and well looked after. I’ll ceratinly be back again!

Reviewer:Hilary A | Sat 11th Nov 2017 | 1 year ago


relaxing - Rating 4/5

we spend a very comfortable 2 nights stay. The beds were comfortable, the water was hot, the rooms were clean and the breakfast was very tasty. The table setting was very inviting and served with a smile. The hosts, Steve and Sarah were lovely. Nothing was a problem .

Reviewer:mrs dorothy m | Mon 30th Oct 2017 | 1 year ago


A brilliant stay - Rating 5/5

This b &b was a delight with lovely touches themed on Beatrix Potter in the room. It was a spacious room with a super king bed. Steve and Sharon were very welcoming and Steve cooked up a lovely breakfast. Nothing was too much trouble. A lovely garden where they do afternoon teas. Gorgeous!

Reviewer:John H | Thu 5th Oct 2017 | 1 year ago


good place to meet old friends - Rating 4/5

Hi Steve/Sharon. Another enjoyable stay at School House Cottage. But Steve needs to get a calculator because his beans count was all wrong.

Reviewer:Dave S | Thu 21st Sep 2017 | 1 year ago


Magnificent B&B - Rating 5/5

We loved staying at the School Cottage B&B. Sharon and Steve were warm, friendly, gracious hosts.They recommended delightful walks.Our breakfasts were cooked to order and delicious.Our room was delightful and very comfortable.

Reviewer:Jeanne B | Sun 20th Aug 2017 | 1 year ago


Excellent location- Rating 5/5

School House Cottage is situated in the beautiful Hawkshead village, perfect location for getting around the Lake District. The hosts were friendly and welcoming and always happy to help. The breakfast was good and the rooms were clean. A very enjoyable stay in Hawkshead.

Reviewer:Lily H | Wed 2nd Aug 2017 | 1 year ago


Home from home - Rating 5/5

Had a lovely stay. Very clean room and was made to feel welcome.Woul definitely re visit.

Reviewer:David S | Mon 31st Jul 2017 | 1 year ago


Excellent- Rating 5/5

A big thank you to Sharon and Steve for making us feel really welcome. The school house is on the edge of the town in a lovely location. We had a lovely cooked breakfast every morning , with no complaints. Would highly recommend.

Reviewer:Tracy H | Mon 31st Jul 2017 | 1 year ago


Triunion 2017 - Rating 4/5

A great time for three couples who met up in the 50/60's. The parking and a small third bedroom prevents achieving a full five-star.

Reviewer:doug g | Mon 24th Jul 2017 | 1 year ago


Fantastic!💕 - Rating 5/5

Just want to say a massive thank you to both Steve and Sharon for making us so welcome. The cottages are immaculate at the same time as being very homely. The bed was the comfiest we have ever slept in!- and the breakfast superb! Definitely visiting again! Xx💕 Thanks again xx

Reviewer:christine H | Mon 24th Jul 2017 | 1 year ago


Few days break - Rating 5/5

Booked a few day at this lovely cottage bed Breakfast . Host we're very friendly and welcomed you . Breakfast was included room was sweet comfortable and very clean .breakfast was choice of 5 different. Thing we had full breakfast have to say it was lovely could not eat it all .you could have a evening meal as a extra choice . Would definitely return back here next time for longerlovely couple Sharon and steve that own the cottagecan't fault it .. village is 2 minute away to walk and to eat out for lunch lovely pubs and shop all in walking distance . Nothing more to add than value for money x

Reviewer:Lisa B | Sat 22nd Jul 2017 | 1 year ago


Very enjoyable. - Rating 5/5

We had a lovely stay with Sharon and Steve. They were so welcoming and friendly, we felt right at home straight away. The room was lovely and clean and the garden was exquisite. The only small issue was there was no hairdryer, but I managed without. Will come back again.

Reviewer:Jean S | Fri 21st Jul 2017 | 1 year ago


Excellent in all respects. - Rating 5/5

School House Cottage is in a lovely, peaceful location yet only minutes away from the village centre. Steve and Sharon are lovely hosts and can't do enough for you. The breakfasts were perfectly cooked and very filling. Highly recommended!

Reviewer:Philip R | Sun 25th Jun 2017 | 1 year ago


No detention at School House! - Rating 5/5

Excellent location with great amenities and friendly, helpful owners. Highly recommended.

Reviewer:Richard J | Tue 13th Jun 2017 | 1 year ago


Excellent B&B - Rating 5/5

Our two night stay in the Headmistress room was very comfortable .The B&B is set in lovely peaceful gardens which our room overlooked .We had the full English breakfast , which was excellent , both days &we were well nourished for the day ahead.Sharon &Steve are very friendly hosts .

Reviewer:Mary C | Mon 12th Jun 2017 | 1 year ago


We loved Peter! - Rating 5/5

We were 2 old school friends having a short break in the area and we loved our stay.Both Sheila and Steve were most welcoming and accommodated our special request of having a champagne afternoon tea for dinner.The room was well presented with nice touches which you expect to find in a hotel but not necessarily in a b&b such as robes, small bathroom items i.e. shower cap etc. and we loved Peter!!Happy to recommend.

Reviewer:Carole L | Sat 10th Jun 2017 | 1 year ago


Home from home - Rating 5/5

Had a lovely stay with Steve &Sharon with a comfortable room. Tea &cake on arrival was very welcome. We would recommend a stay here for the friendly homely feel of school house cottage

Reviewer:Tony V | Sat 27th May 2017 | 1 year ago


Very relaxing break - Rating 5/5

Lovely B &B we were made to feel very welcome with cake.The house and garden are lovely and it is in a lovely quiet spot but well within all the facilities of the beautiful village of Hawkshead. Can highly recommend it.

Reviewer:Louise M | Fri 19th May 2017 | 2 years ago


Lovely stay - Rating 5/5

Made to feel very welcome from the minuite we arrived. Room was very clean with tea/coffee facilities and beautiful views. We were offered tea and cake on arrival and this was brought out to us in the pavillion. Breakfast was fantastic with a brillient choice and nothing was too much trouble. Highly recommended.

Reviewer:Richard B | Tue 2nd May 2017 | 2 years ago


Character in abundance! - Rating 4/5

Hosts are amazing!Food is great.Room was small, en suite the size of a wardrobe (but good power shower). This is a very old building with huge character so you wouldn't expect anything else.Access to parking is tight, large estate car only just fitted.

Reviewer:Mrs Jane Harrison| Mon 24th Apr 2017 | 2 years ago


Excellent - Rating 5/5

Everything was excellent. Hosts friendly, room beautiful and comfortable. Breakfast lovely and plentiful.

Reviewer:Filip D | Fri 14th Apr 2017 | 2 years ago


Greate place to stay ! - Rating 5/5

We really enjoyed our stay and Steves cakes !We also enjoyed your excellent breakfast !We would give the room, we stayed in, 10 out of 10 for comfort with a very comfortable kingsize bed !We enjoyed your very warm welcome and hospitality whilst we were there !It is an excellent location and very peaceful and quiet !We would recommend your place to everybody !We will definitely be staying there again !

Reviewer:richard s | Tue 11th Apr 2017 | 2 years ago


Weekend break - Rating 4/5

Lovely tucked away house in the centre of hawkshead, had the 'naughty boys room, it is small but very clean and tidy, Steve and Sharon are great hosts and very welcoming, great breakfast, and free homemade cake and tea in the afternoons served in the lovely gardens and summer house.

Reviewer:Mr. sean e | Sat 8th Apr 2017 | 2 years ago


A lovely place to stay in Hawkshead! - Rating 4/5

This place is totally adorable! The decoration made me feel so comfortable and relaxed. The environment around the house are beautiful and peaceful. Especially, the lovely garden beside the house. Moreover, the staffs were kind and helpful. Thay gave the advices and information for traveling around the Lake districts. This is the appropriate house to stay for take a rest on holiday.

Reviewer:Chanida A | Sun 2nd Apr 2017 | 2 years ago


Hawkshead - Rating 4/5

Excellent stay at school house cottage.Steve and Sharron are very good hosts. We stayed in the headmasters room and was a good size and comfortable. Steve makes amazing cakes make sure you try his lemon cake

Reviewer:Mr n | Wed 15th Mar 2017 | 2 years ago


Yummy Breakfast- Rating 5/5

Had a lovely 2 night stay Best Breakfast we have ever had. Also had yummy homemade cakes to eat .

Reviewer:Patricia Chris W | Tue 14th Mar 2017 | 2 years ago


What a Find ! - Rating 5/5

If you are looking for the ideal spot to visit in the Lake District then this is the ideal place to stay,the warm welcome to School House Cottage is endorsed with the offer of refreshment, the proprietors also have a small tea room in the large well kept garden where the cakes on offer would win first prize in any bake off competition so afternoon tea takes on a new delight. Our room was light and airy, decorated to a high standard and extremely comfy.The breakfast menu offers a good range of fare from the full english to freshly cooked porridge, the full english was cooked and served to perfection.The only dissapointment was having to leave, will we be back? YOU BET.

Response

Hello mike and Irene,Thankyou so much for your lovely comments - it all helps towards our rating and we very much look forward to having you stay with us again.Sharon & Steve - School House Cottage.

Reviewer:Mike& Irene H | Tue 8th Nov 2016 | 2 years ago


The most comfortable yet - Rating 5/5

Having worked our way round Scotland we came to the Lake District and were delighted to find this wonderful B&B in the beautiful surroundings of Hawkshead. The rooms were warm and comfortable and Steve and Sharon couldn't have been more helpful. Our only regret is that we couldn't stay more than one night due to our itinerary. Recommend this to everyone.

Response

Hello FranklThankyou so much for your lovely comments - it all helps towards our rating and we very much look forward to having you stay with us again.Sharon & Steve - School House Cottage.

Reviewer:Frank S | Tue 1st Nov 2016 | 2 years ago


School House Cottage B&B - Rating 4/5

Had a lovely stay in Hawkshead at School House Cottage, friendly hosts who did everything they could to make our stay enjoyable. The rooms were clean and comfortable and breakfast selection was good and cooked to order. The specially baked cakes really hit the spot after a days walking. Would recommend this B&B to everyone.

Response

Hello DeborahThankyou so much for your lovely comments - it all helps towards our rating and we very much look forward to having you stay with us again.We will have a cake waiting for you on arrival!!Sharon & Steve - School House Cottage.

Reviewer:Deborah S | Thu 13th Oct 2016 | 2 years ago


Superb stay. - Rating 5/5

Extremely enjoyable stay at this ideally located accommodation. Beautiful room and good breakfast with friendly hosts who go the extra mile to help.

Response

Hello SimonThankyou so much for your lovely comments - it all helps towards our rating and we very much look forward to having you stay with us again.Sharon & Steve - School House Cottage.

Reviewer:SIMON B | Wed 12th Oct 2016 | 2 years ago


Lovely B and B - Rating 5/5

This is a very nicely appointed bed and breakfast, set in beautiful surroundings, with a lovely garden. An excellent breakfast, with a choice of menu, including fresh fruit. Great hospitality and nothing too much trouble.

Response

Hello Sonya,Thankyou so much for your lovely comments - it all helps towards our rating and we very much look forward to having you stay with us again.Kindest RegardsSharon & Steve - School House Cottage.

Reviewer:Sonya B | Mon 10th Oct 2016 | 2 years ago


Great on every level - Rating 5/5

We stayed with Sharon and Steve for 2 nights and were very well taken care of during our stay. The room was clean and spacious and Sharon cooked us a delightful breakfast. It was also great to meet other guests.We can't recommend the place enough as we had a lovely relaxing time , the village is also lovely and picturesque.

Response

Hello Anne,Thankyou so much for your lovely comments - it all helps towards our rating and we very much look forward to having you stay with us again.Kindest RegardsSharon & Steve - School House Cottage.

Reviewer:Anne L | Mon 3rd Oct 2016 | 2 years ago


Our Best B&B Experience on Trip - Rating 5/5

After a considerable drive from South Wales it was an absolute pleasure to be greeted with a coffee and delightful piece of cake. The setting was lovely and the room could not be faulted. Breakfast was excellent. The host's knowledge of local walks was put to good use and his lending of a map appreciated.

Response

Hello John,Thankyou so much for your lovely comments - it all helps towards our rating and we very much look forward to having you stay with us again. We will have a cake waiting for you on arrival!Kindest RegardsSharon & Steve - School House Cottage.

Reviewer:John A | Sat 17th Sep 2016 | 2 years ago


September last minute break- Rating 5/5

As all the guests have mentioned the hosts can't do enough for you , the guest house is in a lovely position within the village , hearty breakfasts &an overall welcome break .

Response

Hello Paul,Thankyou so much for your lovely comments - it all helps towards our rating and we very much look forward to having you stay with us again.We apologise for the late response as we have had a busy season.Kindest RegardsSharon & Steve - School House Cottage.

Reviewer:Paul D | Fri 16th Sep 2016 | 2 years ago


4 friends from Norway - Rating 4/5

Very pleased with the stay at School House Cottage.

Response

Hello Bjorn,Thankyou so much for your lovely comments - it all helps towards our rating and we very much look forward to having you stay with us again.We apologise for the late response as we have had a busy season.Kindest RegardsSharon & Steve - School House Cottage.

Reviewer:Bjorn N | Wed 14th Sep 2016 | 2 years ago


Feels like home - Rating 5/5

Lovely cottage and garden. The hosts were very friendly and helpful. Great breakfast, hosts were happy to accommodate my food intolerances.

Response

Hello Greg,Thankyou so much for your lovely comments - it all helps towards our rating and we very much look forward to having you stay with us again.We apologise for the late response as we have had a busy season.Kindest RegardsSharon & Steve - School House Cottage.

Reviewer:Greg S | Thu 1st Sep 2016 | 2 years ago


Bank Holiday Weekend - Rating 5/5

Just Had a fantastic stay for the bank holiday weekend. I booked 3 rooms for myself and 2 other couples which were lovely. For breakfast we had a great choice and what ever we had was superb. We were looked after by Sharon and her Husband. Look forward to returning in the near future.

Response

Hello David,Thankyou so much for your lovely comments - it all helps towards our rating and we very much look forward to having you stay with us again.We apologise for the late response as we have had a busy season.Kindest RegardsSharon & Steve - School House Cottage.

Reviewer:David O | Tue 30th Aug 2016 | 2 years ago


Great Location - Rating 3/5

A two minute walk from the centre of Hawkshead. Well looked after and good value. Excellent choice of breakfast. Coffee and cake in the summerhouse an added bonus. Room was adequate, with good facilities but rather cramped.

Response

Hello David,Thankyou so much for your lovely comments - it all helps towards our rating and we very much look forward to having you stay with us again.A cake will be waiting for you on arrival!We apologise for the late response as we have had a busy season.Kindest RegardsSharon & Steve - School House Cottage.

Reviewer:David W | Fri 26th Aug 2016 | 2 years ago


School house cottage - Rating 3/5

Very small, cramped room with an equally small ensuite.Comfortable bed and a good shower.Lovely breakfast.Friendly hosts.

Response

Hello Paul,Thankyou so much for your comments.It all helps towards our rating. The room you were in was our small double and we value your comments.We find people love the room as they find it cosy and others need more room. Should you stay with us again the Headmasters room or Headmistresses room are larger and would suit your needs better.We apologise for the late response as we have had a busy season.Kindest RegardsSharon & Steve - School House Cottage.

Reviewer:Elizabeth Blanche C | Wed 17th Aug 2016 | 2 years ago


Steve and Sharon were welcoming Hosts!! - Rating 5/5

Loved the ambiance, the setting, gardens, breakfast...everything. We will be back again!!!!

Reviewer:Karen K | Mon 8th Aug 2016 | 2 years ago


Lovely short break - Rating 5/5

Enjoyed our 2 night stay.Great location in Hawksheade village.The owners Sharon and Steve make you feel very welcome and gave us some good tips for places to eat, things to see and do etc.Steve cooks a great full englush to order and they bake some gorgeous cakes to enjoy daily too.

Response

Hello Tracie,Thankyou so much for your lovely comments and glad your stay was most enjoyable with us this summer- it all helps towards our rating and we very much look forward to having you stay with us again. A cake will be waiting on your arrival!We apologise for the late response as we have had a busy season.Kindest RegardsSharon & Steve - School House Cottage.

Reviewer:Tracie S | Sun 31st Jul 2016 | 2 years ago


Wonderful Stay - Rating 5/5

We have just had a wonderful long weekend at the School House - we were made to feel most welcome and at home - with little extra touches such as lovely cakes and tea.Looking forward to our next visit

Response

Hi Claire,Many thanks for your kind reviewand we are glad you injoyed your stay with us.We hope you will come and stay with us again.Kind regardsSharon & Steve

Reviewer:Claire L | Mon 25th Jul 2016 | 2 years ago


Lovely stay - Rating 5/5

We really enjoyed the stay, felt very welcome &at home.

Response

Hi Martina,Many thanks for your kind reviewand we are glad you injoyed your stay with us.We hope you will come and stay with us again.Kind regardsSharon & Steve

Reviewer:Martina S | Mon 25th Jul 2016 | 2 years ago


Hawkshead Revisited - Rating 4/5

We arrived tired and hot and the difficulty in finding the entrance to our B&B made us all the more weary.(Soon to be remedied I understand ).Then the proprietor's smiley face emerged and from then on it was sheer bliss.A wonderful clean, bright and cosy room with a particularly comfortable bed, followed by a cooked breakfast to set one up for the day.A great visit and one that we would like to experience again if we are ever in that area.Keith and June

Response

Hi Keith,Many thanks for your kind reviewand we are glad you injoyed your stay with us.We hope you will come and stay with us again.Kind regardsSharon & Steve

Reviewer:Keith M | Fri 22nd Jul 2016 | 2 years ago


Lovely Olde Worlde Hotel. - Rating 5/5

It was a Little difficult to find. But once found we found the place comfortable and the owners Friendly. Comfortable room and great Breakfast.

Response

Hi Robert,Many thanks for your kind reviewand we are glad you injoyed your stay with us.We hope you will come and stay with us again.Kind regardsSharon & Steve

Reviewer:Robert F | Fri 22nd Jul 2016 | 2 years ago


Hawkshead break - Rating 5/5

Warm welcome on arrival from Steve , with tea , coffee and cake in the pavilion sun house. Sharon welcomed us in the morning with an excellent breakfast. The location is very close to the village and a lovely place for a relaxing break with beautiful views and walks.

Response

Hi Kenneth,Many thanks for your kind reviewand we are glad you injoyed your stay with us.We hope you will come and stay with us again.Kind regardsSharon & Steve

Reviewer:Mr. Kenneth H | Wed 20th Jul 2016 | 2 years ago


mrs - Rating 5/5

Thanks for a lovely stay,we couldn't have asked for more you were both great hosts nothing to much for you. Food was great room was lovely and comfortable if we do come your way again we will definitively get in touch with you for accommodation.Josephine/Derek.

Response

Hi Josephine,Many thanks for your kind reviewand we are glad you injoyed your stay with us.We hope you will come and stay with us again.Kind regardsSharon & Steve

Reviewer:Josephine M | Tue 19th Jul 2016 | 2 years ago


Quiet & relaxing - Rating 5/5

Centrally located Just 1 minute from the pub very quiet &relaxingB&B

Response

Hi Victor,Many thanks for your kind reviewand we are glad you injoyed your stay with us.We hope you will come and stay with us again.Kind regardsSharon & Steve

Reviewer:Victor T | Wed 13th Jul 2016 | 2 years ago


Overnight in Hawks Head - Rating 5/5

Very neat and comfortable. Outstanding hospitality and Breakfast. Bit hard to find, though.

Reviewer:Dirk F | Thu 30th Jun 2016 | 2 years ago


Quality- Rating 5/5

Great stay , made to feel very comfortable. The owners were very nice and charming and the breakfast is outstanding with proper bacon and sausages. Will be booking for next year. Quality stay

Reviewer:Ian P | Mon 27th Jun 2016 | 2 years ago


School House Cottage - Rating 5/5

A very friendly and welcoming couple.excellent food, lovely garden good facilities

Reviewer:Craig A | Sun 26th Jun 2016 | 2 years ago


wonderful room with great views - Rating 5/5

Excellent stay. Breakfast very tasty. A warm welcome and very pleasant friendly hosts.

Reviewer:Susan C | Wed 22nd Jun 2016 | 2 years ago


B&B très agréable- Rating 4/5

Bien reçu, un accueil sympathique, petit déjeuner copieux, chambre propre, literie agréable. Seul bémol douche difficile à régler.

Reviewer:Henri C | Sun 19th Jun 2016 | 2 years ago


Home from Home - Rating 5/5

The School House Cottage is a good bolt hole for the Lakes, Steve &Sharon are most welcoming, the small beezue property is very comfortable, lovely garden, a Pavilion for relaxing, afternoon teas, location just out of the village, along the the most important meal of the day a super breakfast with ingredients from local produces, who could ask for more. Good pubs to eat in the evenings. Will be going back a few times, totally relaxing, enjoyed our short stay.

Response

Hi colin,Many thanks for your lovely review and look forward to seeing Julie and you againKind regardssharon & Steve

Reviewer:Colin P | Sun 12th Jun 2016 | 2 years ago


Wonderful break - Rating 5/5

Absolutely beautiful guest house.Couldn'thave been more comfortable. Couldn't resist the full English breakfast which was absolutely delicious. If we visit the Lake District again we will be staying at School House Cottage again.

Reviewer:Karen M | Sat 28th May 2016 | 2 years ago


A very lovely B&B - Rating 5/5

The school House cottage is a fantastic B&B, ideally situated in the lovely village of Hawkshead.Steve and Sharon are wonderful host's, they made us feel very welcome. Steves knowledge of the lakes is second to none!We had a fresh, clean room and a great full english breakfast each morning, freshly prepared to our order.This B&B has a very relaxed atmosphere. My girlfriend and I thoroughly enjoyed our stay here. We highly recommend the school house cottage to all ages.

Reviewer:Neil M | Tue 24th May 2016 | 2 years ago


Lovely - Rating 4/5

Welcoming hosts, delicious breakfast with home made bread! Tiny room but comfy bed. Hawkshead is perfect for exploring the south lakes.

Reviewer:Susan D | Thu 12th May 2016 | 3 years ago


Home from Home Lovely B&B - Rating 5/5

We enjoyed our stay at the School House Cottage, perfectly position in the pretty little village of Hawkshead. The Hosts Steve and Sharon were warm and very welcoming. Great cooked breakfast made with quality products. Gorgeous garden and summer house where you are able to read a book or paper and relax, coffee tea and homemade cake on hand. A afternoon tea is availablewith sandwiches tea and scones all homemade, be sure to book in advance. We enjoyed our stay so much we will return soon.

Reviewer:Christine B | Thu 5th May 2016 | 3 years ago


warm and welcoming - Rating 4/5

Very friendly and hospitable hosts who could not have done more.Pleasant, comfortable accommodation.We enjoyed our stay and would recommend this place to anyone.Splendid cakes!Humble suggestion - anti-slip mats in the shower.Best wishes Tim &Wena Evans

Reviewer:Tim E | Wed 30th Mar 2016 | 3 years ago


Fantastic place - Rating 4/5

Lovely host and really look after youBreakfast is nice and sets you up for the dayIf you need any tips on walks or local knowledge we found the hosts very helpfulWould recommend this place highly

Reviewer:TERRY G | Thu 3rd Dec 2015 | 3 years ago


Weekend break - Rating 5/5

Very pleasant 2night break in Hawkshead in a very comfortable, warm &friendly B&B

Reviewer:Gill D | Tue 27th Oct 2015 | 3 years ago


Our excellent stay - Rating 5/5

This guest house is a must, lovely and quiet , the newly summer house is a perfect place to relax and have a drink after a nice walk to tarn how's. The cake is amazing . The room is perfect too. Staying again .....definitely

Reviewer:Richard J | Mon 26th Oct 2015 | 3 years ago


School house cottage - Rating 5/5

Excellent bb. Lovely quiet location even though within few minutes walking dustance of everything.Breakfast great at whatever time you request.Lovely room with fabulous view of beautiful garden and many birds at feeding station. Lovely garden room with afternon tea and home cakes. I was lucky enough to see resident barn owl at 4.30 one morning.Highly recommended, very friendly hosts.

Reviewer:Carole W | Mon 21st Sep 2015 | 3 years ago


Friendly and welcoming - Rating 5/5

A wonderful cottage, in a perfect location in Hawkeshead.Both Steve and Sharon were very friendly and most welcoming. Our group had booked all 3 bedrooms which made it feel like our own little cottage for the weekend. Afternoon tea when we arrived was an unexpected surprise as well as having the summer house for evening drinks. We would stay again.

Reviewer:Mrs. Julie B | Thu 13th Aug 2015 | 3 years ago


Excellent in all aspects - Rating 5/5

What a wonderful place to stay. Fantastic hosts, food and accommodation. We will be back in the future, especially for the smoked bacon. Yummy.

Reviewer:Liz D | Wed 12th Aug 2015 | 3 years ago


Great Stay at The School House - Rating 5/5

Sharon and Steve where fantastic hosts at The School House, room was a little small, but bigger rooms were available.B&B was perfectly sited for touring the lakes, Breakfast was fantastic, with a summer house for tea and cake after a long walk. Wifi though out with no problems. Nothing was too much for our hosts, we will definitely stay again.

Reviewer:Shaun B | Tue 11th Aug 2015 | 3 years ago


Lovely cottage with lovely owners :-) - Rating 5/5

We spent two night lovely nights at the cottage with friends and it was lovely.the cottage is steeped in history with lots of original features and the owners were very attentive catering to all your needs.they have a lovely summer room which you can have afternoon tea in ( which we did as the weather was lovely !) and it's wonderful !:-). All in all a very enjoyable stay with a very big thank you to Steve &Sharon Cooke (proprietors)

Reviewer:Philip H | Mon 10th Aug 2015 | 3 years ago


Very pleasant stay in an historic building - Rating 5/5

We found the owner/ manager Steve both friendly, welcoming and very helpful. The building is full charm and situated in a picturesque village of Hawkshead. Breakfast was good and exactly as we had requested. We wish we could have had a longer stay.

Reviewer:Richard S | Sat 8th Aug 2015 | 3 years ago


June 2015 - Rating 5/5

Secret Paradise in the Lake District.New summerhouse beautiful, relaxing with chocolate cake to die for!! Sit listening to the sounds of the countryside. Peace and tranquility. Rooms are perfect. Full English Breakfast sets you up for the day. Evening meals superb! Sharron and Steven are the perfect hosts. Nothing is too much for them. 6 out of 5 stars!! We will be back soon.

Reviewer:Mr. Michael N | Tue 30th Jun 2015 | 3 years ago


Lovely,welcoming hosts in a very comfortable B&B - Rating 5/5

From the moment we arrived we were made to feel welcome. The hosts were two of the loveliest people we've met anywhere and we were lucky to share their home. The house is very nice with comfortable beds and a good shower. The freshly cooked breakfast was really great. The afternoon cake and tea in the summer house is a very nice touch. Overall,we would recommend this Bed and Breakfast to anyone. We really hope to go back again one day. Fantastic!

Reviewer:Gareth D | Tue 16th Jun 2015 | 3 years ago


Lovely homely place to stay - Rating 5/5

What a lovely time we had with Steve and Sharon. They were so friendly and helpful,their B&B was comfortable,homely and relaxing, the garden was so lovely. It was like an oasis for us. Breakfast was perfect also.

Reviewer:Andrew W | Mon 15th Jun 2015 | 3 years ago


School House Cottage - Rating 4/5

Lovely B&B with very friendly and welcoming proprietors. The garden and afternoon cake was delicious as was the breakfast. Would definitely stay again.

Reviewer:Margaret N | Sat 13th Jun 2015 | 3 years ago


What a B and B - Rating 5/5

Lovely setting and accommodation, hosts wonderful ;will definitely go again.

Reviewer:Arnold S | Thu 11th Jun 2015 | 3 years ago


Top marks for school house cottage - Rating 5/5

Our end of term report puts this b and b at the top of the class.The subjects - breakfast, accommodation and value for money - make it a standout destination for a relaxing break in the Lakes.The delightful owners, Steve and Sharon and Steve’s mum Mavis went out of their way to make sure we enjoyed our stay and really do make you feel part of the family.Afternoon tea and cakes on return from long hikes were more than welcome.Steve’s cooked to order breakfast set you up for the day and just watching Mavis enjoying her stint as head gardener was enough to tire you out in time for a good night’s sleep.We look forward to going back for a new term!

Reviewer:Paul T | Sun 31st May 2015 | 3 years ago


May Bank Holiday Stay - Rating 5/5

This is a fantastic little B&B with really friendly and helpful hosts. The room was clean and tidy and the bed was so comfy which is just what you need after a days walking around the Lake District. The breakfasts were cooked to perfection and to order could not ask for more! For dining out in Hawkshead you really do need to book a table in one of the local places to avoid disapointment! Afternoon tea/coffee and cake is on offer in the Sun Room at the B&B looked amazing however didn't get the chance sample - next time! Would stay again.

Reviewer:Davena D | Tue 26th May 2015 | 3 years ago


Lovely Lake District Base - Rating 5/5

This is a very nice little B&B. Steve and Sharon looked after us well, all the facilities were in good order and the food was very nice.

Reviewer:Timothy S | Tue 26th May 2015 | 3 years ago


Great Stay - Rating 5/5

Very friendly, comfortable, superb breakfast and incredible lemon cake - perfect.

Reviewer:Richard E | Tue 5th May 2015 | 4 years ago


School House Cottage - Rating 4/5

We received a very warm welcome when we arrived followed by afternoon tea in the garden. Breakfast was fantastic and we thoroughly enjoyed out stay.

Reviewer:Ian M | Mon 20th Apr 2015 | 4 years ago


Pleasant stay at school house cottage - Rating 4/5

i travel a fair amount with my work and always use hotels so it was a pleasant change to use a B&B and experience a very personal and friendly stay. Rooms very clean, bed comfortable and breakfast freshly prepared and plentiful. Very competitive price too. I would recommend it. The owners were very helpful and provided the personal touch missing at hotels. I would not hesitate to return.

Reviewer:Andrew T | Fri 10th Apr 2015 | 4 years ago


home from home - Rating 4/5

We had a lovely stay during christmas and new year. Lovely food. Lovely and friendly hosts. Lovely cake in the summer house! Bedrooms welcoming and clean,and breakfasts cooked to perfection. Good central location for hawkshead and walks in the area. Some guests might not enjoy eating at one table together;but it didnt bother us as very flexible eaating times.

Reviewer:Mrs. Gill O | Thu 15th Jan 2015 | 4 years ago


Really Enjoyable Stay - Rating 5/5

This was our first experience of a B&B so were a little apprehensive. So pleased we chose this place. The location is great, no passing traffic to wake you up early in the morning but also very close to the centre of Hawkshead so you can easily make your way into the village on foot. We were made to feel very welcome by Sharon &Steve, the room we had was bigger than expected which was a lovely surprise and probably has one of the most powerful showers I've ever used. The house is set in a lovely garden which we were lucky enough to have a view of from our bedroom window. Also in the garden there is a lovely summer house, which with the help of a good heater, was even warm on a cold October evening, so is a nice place to relax, there is even cake to be found in there! Probably one of the favourite things here was the very tasty breakfast we had each morning, made from locally sourced ingredients, and the toast made from Steves homemade bread is to die for! The portions are great too, really sets you up for the day.Would definitely recommend booking here if you like a warm welcome, comfy room and a scrumptious breakfast.

Reviewer:Mrs. Catherine H | Sun 12th Oct 2014 | 4 years ago


Wonderful weekend - Rating 5/5

I spent two nights at Steven and Sharon's bed and breakfast and everything was perfect. They were so welcoming, we felt as if we were at home.Tasty breakfasts and nice tea/cake at afternoons.Truly recommended!

Reviewer:Miss. Stefania S | Tue 19th Aug 2014 | 4 years ago


Stay 1st and 2nd August 2014 - Rating 5/5

Very welcoming and friendly hosts.Room was excellent as was the wide choice for breakfast.Thoroughly enjoyed the cake and coffee in the summer house in the afternoon

Reviewer:Mr. Paul K | Tue 5th Aug 2014 | 4 years ago


Home from home - Rating 5/5

Truly lovely experience. Steve &Sharon made us feel very welcome. Nice sitting in the lovely garden with a piece of Steve's Walnut cake. Fab breakfast. I could go on but would suggest you just go and experience it yourself.

Reviewer:Mr. Tony H | Mon 2nd Jun 2014 | 4 years ago


My stay - Rating 5/5

I was very pleased with my stay at the School House Cottage, Sharon could not have been more friendly or helpful. I will stay again

Reviewer:Mrs. LouiseC | Tue 6th May 2014 | 5 years ago


Cramped - Rating 3/5

The room and bathroom are on the rather small and rustic side. This was more than made up by Steve, our host with his warm welcome, interesting conversation, afternoon tea with home baked cake and wonderful breakfasts.

Reviewer:Mr. Renato G | Mon 14th Apr 2014 | 5 years ago


Home from Home - Rating 5/5

Tucked away in nice quiet spot. Stephen &Sharon made our stay for our Pearl Wedding Anniversary more than memorable. Full English breakfast sets you up for the day. Need to walk it off before freshly made evening meal. Room was perfect with beautiful views. 3 cats make it even more homely. Hope to go back soon. Afternoon tea summerhouse will be great. Only wish I could give it 6 Stars! Thanks to you both from Shirley &Michael.

Reviewer:Mr. Michael N | Thu 13th Mar 2014 | 5 years ago


Warm Welcome - Rating 4/5

Very accomodating, warm and friendly

Reviewer:Mr. Paul F | Mon 14th Oct 2013 | 5 years ago


Wonderful hosts - Rating 5/5

We had a fantastic one night stay at the School House Cottage. Steve and Sharon were very hospitable and attentive from the moment we arrived. We had a welcome drink and chocolate cake in the living room with our hosts and shared travel stories. The bedroom was large with a comfortable double bed and a wonderful view of the garden together with an en-suite bathroom. Breakfast was made to order and comprised cereal, orange juice, coffee, a full English and fresh fruit. The brown toasted bread is to die for!!! The B&B is at the far end of the village so it isn't noisy when the pubs close and is only a pleasant 5 minute walk to the centre. This will be my B&B of choice the next time I am in the Lake District as Steve and Sharon couldn't do enough to ensure their guests have a great stay with them.

Reviewer:MARK G | Mon 23rd Sep 2013 | 5 years ago


excellent stay - Rating 5/5

Thank you for an enjoyable stay and making us feel so welcome. The room was lovely and comfortable and we very much enjoyed the breakfasts and cake in the garden! We will be seeing you again in september, will be in touch soon. Many thanks Dave and Anna

Response

Hello David and Anna,Thanks for the lovely comments you gave us on your review, we will look forward to seeing you both in SeptemberSharon and Steve School House Cottage.

Reviewer:Mr. David S | Tue 27th Mar 2012 | 7 years ago


HOME FROM HOME - Rating 5/5

We so enjoyed our stay at the School House Cottage. The atmosphere was so relaxed and friendly and a lovely welcome at the door on our arrival. The offer of Tea and cake was on our arrival delightful and the Full English Breakfast was FANTASTIC. I would like to take this opportunity to THANK Steve and Sharon and will definatley be returning very soonLove Trish and Russell Henry xxxx

Response

Thank-you very much we are so please you enjoyed your stay with us and your review is greatfully recieved.

Reviewer:Mrs. Patricia H | Fri 28th Oct 2011 | 7 years ago


4.8
Very Good

123 reviews

5
79%
4
19%
3
2%
2
0%
1
0%